PDA

View Full Version : reading a text in class

tili
06-Nov-2005, 16:25
Hi there!
What is the best way to read a text in class? students read silently to themselves? students ake turns to read aloud?
it seems as if reading texts in class takes all the class time and not very effective.
Thanks
Tili

sherryganon
06-Nov-2005, 20:36
Hello Tili!

my name is Sherry, and I'm an English teacher (this is my first year). in regards to your question of how to read a text in class... well, in my class, first of all we read the headline of the text, trying to understand what the text is about, then i am teaching the main idea of the text through few guiding questions. in this way, i am encourging the students to read a text, in a productive way.
well, i hope it was meaningfull
Sherry

Dedalus
06-Nov-2005, 20:53
Hallo,

Personally, I think that there is nothing worse than having a group of students sit in total silence reading a text. :-( Teaching English should be about communication, so therefore, I think that it is better to get the students to read the text before them come into the class. The time in the class can be better used to discuss the text, or by getting the students to write their own comprehension questions to test each other.