Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
Zhuang
Home Country
Bangladesh
Current Location
Japan
For undergraduates here, we use MAJOR to refer to the main subject we are studying, but(1) is it OK to ask an exchange student eg from America his 'major' at my university? (2)How about postgraduates? If I want to know what subject a postgraduate is studying, can I use the word 'major'?

M1na

Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
Persian
Home Country
Iran
Current Location
Iran
e.g not eg
at the university

The answer is YES. You can use the word "major".

Major ( as a noun) can mean subject.
Major (as a verb) can mean "to study sth as your main major at college or university"

I majored in English .... (not I major in English ..., you can also say I want to major in English ...)

5jj

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
Czech Republic
Current Location
Czech Republic

Gillnetter

Key Member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
For undergraduates here, we use MAJOR to refer to the main subject we are studying, but(1) is it OK to ask an exchange student eg from America his 'major' at my university? (2)How about postgraduates? If I want to know what subject a postgraduate is studying, can I use the word 'major'?
If you are asking a student who has not graduated, you can use "major". What this means is that this person may be taking most of his/her classes in biology (this is the major field of study), and also is taking classes in French, social science, history, etc. After this person graduates, they no longer have a major as such since all of their classes are in one field of study. To the postgraduate, I would ask what is their field of study, or what field are they in.

nelson13

Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
Zhuang
Home Country
Bangladesh
Current Location
Japan
e.g not eg
at the university