• Post Thanks / Like

Common Grammatical Errors among ESL learners

I am currently working on a phd. in TESL and am doing research on techniques of teaching grammar. I will be experimenting using the integrative method ( more of a grammar discovery approach) vs. the communicative method in teaching grammar structures. My hang up at the moment is what grammar structures to include. I am a Spnish professor so am not aware of grammatical structures that tend to cause problems amon ESL learners. I am drawn to the present perfect. Is that a good structure to investigate or are there others that would make my research more useful. Any suggestions anyone might have I would greatly appreciate.

• Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Other
      • Native Language:
      • Spanish
      • Home Country:
      • Argentina
      • Current Location:
      • Argentina

• Post Thanks / Like

Re: Common Grammatical Errors among ESL learners

According to my experience, present perfect is one of the most difficult structures. Id say that present simple is difficult too, it takes a long time to get used to adding s after the third person. Once they have learned the tenses in general, they find it difficult to complete a text which includes present, past, future, conditionals and passive voice.

Hope that helps.

• Post Thanks / Like

Thanks for the help. I am leaning toward either the present perfect or the present progressive vs. the simple present. Does that one seem to be a problem too? I am teaching one group communicatively and the other using the integrative method of explore, explanation, and expression proposed by Sysoyev.

• Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Academic
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Australia
      • Current Location:
      • Australia

• Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by JoannaD View Post