Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    shane is offline Senior Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Default 'Study' & 'Learn'

Whilst teaching today a question entered my mind: What's the difference between 'study' and 'learn'?
    A student told me "Learn is when you have a teacher, and you watch / listen to them in order to gain knowledge. Study is when you do things alone"

The example in the book used this dialogue:

A: "Did you learn English at high school?"
    B: "No I didn't. I studied it at college"

I then asked the student who gave me the explanation:
    "Don't these two place both use classrooms? Teachers? Don't you have to watch / listen at both of these places? How are they different?"

So, can anyone tell me the difference between these two words? I was never taught a difference, and IMO, there is very little difference, save for usage. To learn the different usage of these words, you'd have to listen to many different examples.

Can anyone help?

Shane

Post Thanks / Like

Care of Merriam-Webster

to STUDY
    1 : to read in detail especially with the intention of learning

to LEARN
    1 : to gain knowledge or understanding of or skill in by study

Both entries refer to each other, so in my book they are very closely linked. If you try hard enough I'm sure you could find some subtle difference between them - but ask yourself: is it important? Is it useful? Will my head explode in the endeavour? :wink:

Iain

RonBee is offline Moderator
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Other
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States
    Post Thanks / Like