Post Thanks / Like

Default teaching spoken english in China

i've had little experience in teaching, aside from a few tutoring sessions i pretty much register a goose egg on the teaching scale. so i'm wondering if anyone's got any tips for me on how to approach teaching spoken english in China. (chinese students are usually shy and it can be difficult to get them start talking)

i'll be going back for a 3rd interview with this english school soon and have to come up with a sample class. so basically i want to know if there's any appropriate lesson plans that are entertaining and will get the students to start talking.

if you've been an english teacher in china and can give me some advice then it'll be greatly appreciated.

thanks in advance.

Lady Hawk is offline Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Retired English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States
    Post Thanks / Like

Smile Re: teaching spoken english in China

Quote Originally Posted by john dough View Post
    i've had little experience in teaching, aside from a few tutoring sessions i pretty much register a goose egg on the teaching scale. so i'm wondering if anyone's got any tips for me on how to approach teaching spoken english in China. (chinese students are usually shy and it can be difficult to get them start talking)

i'll be going back for a 3rd interview with this english school soon and have to come up with a sample class. so basically i want to know if there's any appropriate lesson plans that are entertaining and will get the students to start talking.

if you've been an english teacher in china and can give me some advice then it'll be greatly appreciated.

thanks in advance.
    Mr. Dough,