Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Default past and present tenses - which one is this?

I am an ESL teacher in China. I'm stumped on how to explain a particular example of tense - I'm sure my answer is correct, but I don't know which tense category it belongs to. I need to demonstrate that I am correct (if indeed I am) because the Chinese English textbook gives what I think is an incorrect answer.
    this is the example:
    My students had to ask a friend if he/she is afraid of anything. When I asked them to tell me what their friends had said, a student responded, "I asked my friend what she's afraid of and she said she was afraid of spiders".
    I corrected her; I said "you should have said "... and she said she IS afraid of spiders ......" "
    However, the textbook says the answer is "..was afraid.."
    I explained that this means her friend was afraid of spiders in the past, but no longer is, but of course, the students won't have a bar of this, because the text book says so.
    am i right?
    how can I explain this; what tense is it? past perfect? past continuous?

macanudo is offline Junior Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • Japan
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: past and present tenses - which one is this?

This is usually called reported speech or indirect speech depending on what textbook/reference you look at. And the answer is both are correct but depending on the student's level it might be easier to just simplify it to always past.

For example,

Bob says 'I am Bob.'
    He said his name was/is Bob.

Generally (that Does not mean 100% of the time) it's safe to just 'back-shift' the verb and be done with it. There are numerous irregularities to this though. But I would hold off explaining that to student until they've reached an intermediate level or above.