• Post Thanks / Like

Thinking about taking a TOEFL Course - have ?'s

I am considering taking an Oxford Seminars course that will be at Clemson University in a couple of weeks. It is a six day, sixty hour class, and at the end it says I would receive a combined TESOL/TEFL/TESL certificate.

I have an associates degree only and it is in Hospitality Management. I am also recently 55. I have lived overseas before, in Indonesia for two years in the mid 80's and loved it, but because I have elderly parents (in their late 80's) , as much as I would love to live overseas again, I don't know that it is a practical choice for me at this point.

So these are the things I want to know:

1) Are the Oxford Seminar courses worth the $1095.00 they cost? Some of the reviews I read say some of the teachers are not good, but I can't see a way to find out who the the instructor is and if they are any good.

2) Would I have a hard time finding work at my age?

3) How handicapped am I by not having a four year degree?

4) How hard is it to find work within the US?

5) Can I really learn what I would need to succeed in this profession in just six days? It doesn't seem possible. I mean, I realize that there would still be more to learn, but could I get a job upon completion?

• Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Other
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Great Britain
      • Current Location:
      • Switzerland

• Post Thanks / Like

Re: Thinking about taking a TOEFL Course - have ?'s

Quote Originally Posted by Rapunzll View Post
    1) Are the Oxford Seminar courses worth the $1095.00 they cost? Some of the reviews I read say some of the teachers are not good, but I can't see a way to find out who the the instructor is and if they are any good.
    That depends on what kind of job you are after. Take a look at the independent tefl course review site and see what former students say about them which appears to be rather scathing.