Post Thanks / Like

Post Adverb vs. Adjective Clauses

A lot of my students are confused about clauses, conjunctions and the use of the subjunctive (which, contrary to popular opinion, does exist in English). This is an explanation that I use with my upper-intermediate to advanced students and it seems to really help them.

Adverb Clauses

• When Alan comes home, he usually has a sandwich.
    • When Alan comes home, we will talk about it.

What is the difference?

1. When Alan comes home, he usually has a sandwich is an Adjective Clause
    When replaces a time (in + year, in + month, on + day,...). It cannot be a subject. It can be omitted. Here is an example with when:
    I will never forget the day. + I graduated on that day.=
    I will never forget the day when I graduated.

“When I graduated” modifies me.
    In the first example, “He usually has a sandwich” modifies Alan.

2. When Alan comes home, we will talk about it is an Adverb Clause

WHEN talks about the time that we need or want something to happen. It is the subject of the subordinate clause. We need Alan to come home before we can talk about it.

I’ll have a big party when I graduate. or When I graduate, I’ll have a big party.

Having the party is dependent on graduating. When I graduate is the subject of the subordinate clause.

In the first example, our talking about it depends on Alan coming home.

Adverb Clauses of Time:

Billy couldn’t swim.
    He jumped off the pier. (contrast)

Although Billy couldn’t swim, he jumped off the pier.

Billy jumped off the pier although he couldn’t swim.
    The subordinators in adverb clauses are called subordinating conjunctions. They cannot be omitted. They cannot be subjects. Here are some of the subordinating conjunctions:
    Time: after, before, when, while, as, by the time, whenever, since, until, as soon as, once, as long as
    Cause and effect: because, since, now that, as, as long as, inasmuch as, so (that), in order that