Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Testing one's "speaking"

Hi all,

I am an English tutor and have just had a new student request a "speaking" test at his next lesson. He's very specific about wanting his "speaking ability in English" tested...he doesn't want his listening ability tested or anything else...

The only thing that comes to mind is to use a "strip story" with him and have him talk about the story while recording his speech...this was an idea given to us when I took "tutoring ESL certificate Program" many years ago...

I'd greatly appreciate any other ideas, as I feel I must be missing something...but maybe not...

Thanks in advance...

Catherine C.

albeit is offline Banned
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Testing one's "speaking"

Quote Originally Posted by Catherine C. View Post
    Hi all,

I am an English tutor and have just had a new student request a "speaking" test at his next lesson. He's very specific about wanting his "speaking ability in English" tested...he doesn't want his listening ability tested or anything else...

The only thing that comes to mind is to use a "strip story" with him and have him talk about the story while recording his speech...this was an idea given to us when I took "tutoring ESL certificate Program" many years ago...

I'd greatly appreciate any other ideas, as I feel I must be missing something...but maybe not...

Thanks in advance...

Catherine C.
    I wonder how that can be done. Does he propose to give a prepared [memorized] speech and would this constitute an evaluation of his speaking ability? Is it his pronunciation that he wants evaluated?

To my mind, speaking ability is intrinsically tied in with one's listening ability, ie. the ability to hear and comprehend and then to formulate a viable response [meaning it can be understood] in an ongoing conversation, the speed of which could be used to help determine both his listening and speaking abilities.