• Korean
      • Home Country:
      • South Korea
      • Current Location:
      • South Korea
    Post Thanks / Like

A journal entry about races and ethnicity 01

Hi,

This is one of five or six journal entries I have to submit for a class and I would like to get it fine-tuned. If you notice any grammatical mistakes or semantic errors, feel free to correct them for me.

- HKB

September 19, 2009 Saturday 1:30am

I work as a bartender at a bubble tea shop in Chinatown. I usually take the closing shift and thus at times I donít get off work until around 1:30am. Today was one such day. There are usually very few cars on the road at this hour but it is one of my personal credos to observe the traffic light and not cross the street on a red light. More than anything, it keeps me alive. The green light flashed and I was about to finish crossing OíConnor (a street name) when a car on Somerset (also a street name) suddenly swerved into my direction and almost ran me over. Had I not taken a step backwards to evade the car I would have been hit. I was like ĎJesus,í and thought it was just reckless driving when the same driver made a u-turn around the intersection and stuck his face against the side window with a Ďtake thisí expression as he drove away. This is when I realized he did it on purpose. He was at least trying to scare me if not downright kill me on the spot. I managed to give him the finger and told him to fuck off, and I was quite satisfied that this word of profanity came out in time.