melon8 is offline Newbie
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Help with teaching comparatives without explaining grammar.

Hi,

I'm currently in my final year at University and although I am studying English Language and Lingustics, I have chosen a few TESOL modules.

For one of them (called Practice in Language Teaching), I have to produce a 5-minute presentation on teaching comparatives to students learning English, but looking at the meaning aspect by next Tuesday 20th Oct 09.

I've been told that:

- I must avoid introductions "Today, we're going to talk about.."
    - No explanations on grammar, jargon..

So far, my partner has planned that if we have a gap-fill exercises with pictures, it would work. I'm very unsure if it would and in a position where I have no clue on how to convey meaning when teaching grammar.

Does anyone know? :S

If you do or have a few ideas how, that would be great!

Thanks for your time.

albeit is offline Banned
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Help with teaching comparatives without explaining grammar.

Quote Originally Posted by melon8 View Post
    Hi,

I'm currently in my final year at University and although I am studying English Language and Lingustics, I have chosen a few TESOL modules.

For one of them (called Practice in Language Teaching), I have to produce a 5-minute presentation on teaching comparatives to students learning English, but looking at the meaning aspect by next Tuesday 20th Oct 09.

I've been told that:

- I must avoid introductions "Today, we're going to talk about.."
    - No explanations on grammar, jargon..

So far, my partner has planned that if we have a gap-fill exercises with pictures, it would work. I'm very unsure if it would and in a position where I have no clue on how to convey meaning when teaching grammar.

Does anyone know? :S

If you do or have a few ideas how, that would be great!

Thanks for your time.