• Armenian
      • Home Country:
      • Iran
      • Current Location:
      • United States
    Post Thanks / Like

Default worth every

9999.1 Which is correct:
    1- I am a journalist and I do make quite a few enemies by uncovering secrets people have to know about. I have to say the exicitement of finding and speaking the truth is worth every insult coming my way.

2- I am a journalist and I do make quite a few enemies by uncovering secrets people have to know about. I have to say the exicitement of finding and speaking the truth is worth all the insults coming my way.

3- I am a journalist and I do make quite a few enemies by uncovering secrets people have to know about. I have to say the exicitement of finding and speaking the truth is worth the pain caused by all the insults coming my way.
    My problem with number 1 is that it seems to take the 'insults' individually. Shouldn't it be 'every insult coming my way put together'?

Raymott is offline VIP Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Academic
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Australia
      • Current Location:
      • Australia
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: worth every

1. is correct, as are 2 and 3.
    "every insult coming my way" assumes that you have to cope with all of them.

navi tasan is offline Key Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Academic
      • Native Language:
      • Armenian
      • Home Country:
      • Iran
      • Current Location:
      • United States
    Post Thanks / Like

Thanks a lot Raymott,
    How about these ones (I have just added 'put together at the end of each sentence):

1a- I am a journalist and I do make quite a few enemies by uncovering secrets people have to know about. I have to say the exicitement of finding and speaking the truth is worth every insult coming my way put together.