anthonyk is offline Newbie
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Teaching spoken English...HELP!

Hello,

I am starting to teach a few students who simply want to improve their spoken English and listening. I will not be teaching them writing at all.

The students are in their twenties and are, I would say, coming up to advanced level in English.

I would like to ask for some ideas on how to improve their spoken English. Should I simply converse with them on chosen topics for 2 hours? It sounds a bit boring to me.

Sorry if this is a silly thing to ask but I am a beginner teacher and need help!

Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks.

Abstract Idea is offline Key Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Interested in Language
      • Native Language:
      • Portuguese
      • Home Country:
      • Brazil
      • Current Location:
      • Brazil
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Teaching spoken English...HELP!

Quote Originally Posted by anthonyk View Post
    Hello,

I am starting to teach a few students who simply want to improve their spoken English and listening. I will not be teaching them writing at all.

The students are in their twenties and are, I would say, coming up to advanced level in English.

I would like to ask for some ideas on how to improve their spoken English. Should I simply converse with them on chosen topics for 2 hours? It sounds a bit boring to me.

Sorry if this is a silly thing to ask but I am a beginner teacher and need help!

Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks.
    In my opinion you should converse with them during about 50 % of the time.
    Since you are teaching ESL (that means your students are currently living in an English speaking country), things are easier.