Thread: student task

chris1014 Guest

student task

I am a student of English translation in Austria. I wanted to ask you if someone could correct one of my tasks or tell me what I could do better. Here it is:

I am writing you from a wonderful place called ĄLabudalaď. You will surly ask yourself why I left Bangkok where we wanted to meet next week. Well, thatís a weird story but I will try to explain it.
    After 6 days in Bangkok I went to a restaurant where youíd usually met natives only. I really didnít expect to see any tourists in there because most of them would be scared of this kind of restaurant. However, while I was eating I saw an attractive but pretty dirty and exhausted looking young woman who tried to get something to eat for free. She tried everything to persuade the owner of the restaurant but it didnít look like it was going to work. So I decided to help her out because it appeared as if she was in real trouble.
    Then this kind of weird but wonderful odyssey started. She turned out to be a backpacker from the US and she really was in deep water. All her money had been stolen 2 days ago in the elevated train and she was already desperate when I met her. On top of that, she didnít have a place to sleep either because she just wanted to pass through Bangkok and catch the plane to Labudala. This, however, wasnít possible because after her money had been stolen she didnít know how to pay for the ticket. Actually, she didnít even know who to afford something to eat.
    So I decided to pay the ticket and as I was kind of spell bound by her blue sparkling eyes and her long blond hair - even if she looked pretty shabby - I went with her.
    It was also very fascinating how she described this little island in the south of Thailand. When she spoke of it she was all smiles and now I understand why.