Teaching English to spanish children

Status
Not open for further replies.

Daveyboy

Member Type
English Teacher
Hello there guys.

I have just joined this forum, it seems a very good place to get tips and advice.:-D

I am a native English living in spain [ Madrid ] and I am going to start teaching the local Spanish children English. I have the first group this thursday and another on saturday the first ones are children aged around 9 years, and the ones on saturday are around 5 years, there will be 5 or 6 in each group.

I know it probably won't be easy because it's my first time..:-? But I have been surfing the net for tips and advice and found lots of Information. I would love any advice you guys could give me for planning my first lessons..?

I have downloaded quite a few things to use:

Nursery rhymes in audio.

Cartoons like gogo and others.

Flash cards [ some from my program I use for my spanish ]

Work sheets [ for the 9 years of age group ]

I am thinking on some games to use but any tips on some good ones would be great.

Are these Good Ideas guys..? If you could help me with your own experiences it would be great Thanks.

David.

MASM

Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
Spanish
Home Country
Spain
Current Location
Spain
My English teachers used to teach us with cartoons, and songs (like:"head, shoulders, knees and toes...). I remember they had pairing games we used to play. And they also taught colours by making us colour drawings. They also gave us sweets if we got it right :-D.

I hope you enjoy your stay in Madrid, btw.

Daveyboy

Member Type
English Teacher
Thank you for your advice MASM, I think I need to do various things in the class to keep their attention, I know the level of English will very low for the age group of 5 years.