Member Type
Other
Native Language
Arabic
Home Country
Egypt
Current Location
Egypt
The chef uses some ingredients one of which is "pre-civil war butter dish". What is the meaning of that?

Thanks.

BobK

Staff member
Member Type
Retired English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
It depends on context. If it's in England, the butter dish was made before the English Civil War - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia ; it's probably made of silver; I expect pre-civil war butter dishes are very rare, because supporters of the royalist cause contributed all their family silver to the war effort. But I'm not an expert in silverware!

Alternatively, the butter dish was made before the American Civil War - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia . I have a feeling that anything made before that war is called 'ante bellum' - which is Latin for 'pre-war'! So I'd guess my first guess was right.

b

maiabulela

Member Type
Other
Native Language
Arabic
Home Country
Egypt
Current Location
Egypt
I get the sense that the dish here is not a physical plate or bowel or any other container. It seems to me that the dish is food with a lot of butter in it (ingredients seems to be key here). While ante bellum is the correct word for anything made before the war, it is not that common - most people in the US would call it pre-civil war.

Yes, he was numerating the ingredients that he'll use. So we can say then that he means "let'd grab some butter in pre-civil dish"? The dish yes was weird and gold with butter in it.

Thanks

BobK

Staff member
Member Type
Retired English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK