Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. NarutoDude's Avatar
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Student or Learner
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Canada
      • Current Location:
      • Canada

    • Join Date: Nov 2009
    • Posts: 25
    • Post Thanks / Like
    #1

    Should've or Should Have?

    Is should've a word? It gets underlined in red in Google Chrome and Word.

  2. 2010's Avatar
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Interested in Language
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • India
      • Current Location:
      • India

    • Join Date: May 2010
    • Posts: 373
    • Post Thanks / Like
    #2

    Re: Should've or Should Have?

    Quote Originally Posted by NarutoDude View Post
    Is should've a word? It gets underlined in red in Google Chrome and Word.
    Hi,

    ===Not a teacher===

    Yes, "should've" is contracted form of "Should have"

    It is correct.

    Perhaps, you could try this sentence in "word" (guess you are referring to MS word)

    I should've done it.


    • Join Date: Jun 2010
    • Posts: 3
    • Post Thanks / Like
    #3

    Re: Should've or Should Have?

    Yes Should've is a word indeed. but its the short form of Should Have.
    I often use this word in MS Word but it never gets red underline.

  3. BobK's Avatar
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK

    • Join Date: Jul 2006
    • Posts: 15,854
    • Post Thanks / Like
    #4

    Re: Should've or Should Have?

    Quote Originally Posted by mikinsmith View Post
    Yes Should've is a word indeed. but its the short form of Should Have.
    I often use this word in MS Word but it never gets red underline.
    I think the error that mikinsmith had in mind was 'should of' - which is, unfortunately, quite a common mistake.

    b

    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Japan

    • Join Date: Nov 2002
    • Posts: 44,225
    • Post Thanks / Like
    #5

    Re: Should've or Should Have?

    It does get underlined in Google Chrome, but one of the suggestions to correct it is would've, so it's just an oversight on their part. They also underline Google, so their spellcheck does need some work.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •