[Grammar] Verbless Clause? Ellipsis? HELP, PLEASE!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelisaM

Member Type
Student or Learner
Hello, people! This is my first time here, and I really hope this 'friendship' lasts long!

I'm having some problems with the following... clause? phrase? in bold pink :shock: (I'll type almost the whole sentence for you to understand my doubt better):

"That purpose was accomplished; the bus should have been allowed to run down and then stop, the driver asleep at the wheel, the passengers sitting docilely with their mouths wide open, waiting for the bus to fly away,(...) and then a great storm to scour the whole dirty earth down to clean rock and flame."

Ok, so... help me please!!!! ==> Is it a verbless relative clause ("the driver who was asleep at the wheel")? Or is it just that there is an ellipsis of the verb ("the driver was asleep...") and it is all functioning as an adverbial clause (for example, "While the driver was asleep at the wheel?") And last but not least, if it is not an adverbial clause, then what is its relation to the other clauses (i.e. to the rest of the sentence)?
I know I'm missing something...:oops: That's why I'll appreciate any help!!!!

Thanks in advance people!!!:hi:

Last edited:

Atchan

Key Member
Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Somali
Home Country
Somalia
Current Location
Saudi Arabia
*** Not A Teacher nor a native speaker ***

This is absolutely wrong "the driver asleep at the wheel". You can say "the asleep driver at the wheel......."
The best and easily understand is "the driver slept at the wheel".
By the way, asleep isn't a verb its adjective.

"the driver asleep at the wheel". :cross:
"the driver slept at the wheel". :tick:

Last edited:

philo2009

Member Type
Academic
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
Japan
*** Not A Teacher nor a native speaker ***