chrislovespugs Guest

Punctuation dilemma- colons, semi-colons, commas or full-stops!

I am a teacher in charge of supervising some other teachers and in my role I need to edit their reports before they go home to parents.

I am currently debating which is the correct way to use colons, semi-colons, commas and full stops.

Teachers are currently writing their reports like this:

Billy is able to:

• count forward to 30.
    • cound backwards from 30.
    • count with 1:1 correspondance.
    • make sets of numerals to 10.

However, I think there should be NO full stops at the end of each sentence, only at the final sentence, and the word 'and' needs to be included before the last item. Someone else suggested that there should be a semi-colon at the end of each sentence. That would look like this:

Billy is able to:

• count forward to 30;
    • cound backwards from 30;
    • count with 1:1 correspondance; and
    • make sets of numerals to 10.

I have looked in my grammar books but have not found a definitive answer! Can anyone help?

Mister Micawber is offline Key Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • Japan
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Punctuation dilemma- colons, semi-colons, commas or full-stops!

And there probably is no definitive answer. The logical argument would be for the same usage as is generally prescribed for such punctuation marks-- that is, commas between (since there are no internal commas) plus your final 'and' and a period.