Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Default How to reduce your accent!

I suppose this is a very big task and that you guys can not answer me easily.
    Actually, I do take some courses to reduce my accent, but it seems not work me out effectively.
    How to sound more like the native English speaker?

Do you guys have smart short-cut or tricks that can help me out?

Your suggestion will be highly appreciated, thx.

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: How to reduce your accent!

practice, practice, practice, and then some more practice

mgmartini is offline Newbie
    Post Thanks / Like

I am an American ESL teacher who works with students online to help reduce their accent. Let me know if you're interested in working with me. Take a look at my web page. Online Language Services

Ihavestrongaccent is offline Newbie
    Post Thanks / Like

I have been in US about six years and still had a very strong accent. Even though, I always spoke English with my friends around me but my asian accent never improved!!! Just today I did a recording of my own voice and I sounded so funny...like my accent was so thick. Could anyone suggest a good method for me to improve my accent?? Does it help listening to how people speak?? Or is it neccessary watch TV everyday and listen to the way people pronounce words??

blouen is offline Key Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Other
      • Native Language:
      • Tagalog
      • Home Country:
      • Philippines
      • Current Location:
      • Philippines
    Post Thanks / Like

I hope this would help you.

It's right to say that one should have to practice, practice, and practice if you wish to eliminate your strong native accent. This might take some time, of course but most importantly, I think, is to know how and what to practice with.