Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Question Teaching Spoken English

My neighbour's children (13 and 11 years old) drop in daily to learn spoken English. They understand, read and write English, but don't speak it too well. Can anyone suggest how I might go about teaching them to speak English? At present all I do is start a casual conversation about some previous day's activities. It's mostly me asking questions and they mumbling some broken English, which I then correct and get them to repeat. I would appreciate some advice and help.

Regards/Sanjiv

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Teaching Spoken English

You've been doing a great job! I encourage you to go on and add more communicative games. As an EFL teacher, I've tried hard to approach the same target as yours. Unfortunately, most of my students are not quite good at reading or writing at all,so I need to look for any possibility to invite any foreigners to my classes. They might be more active and entertaining to interact with such visitors.
    Best wishes,
    W.

Tdol is offline Editor, UsingEnglish.com
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Philippines
    Post Thanks / Like

Give them some tasks. If they understand it, get them to listen or watch something and then report it back. If you can shift the focus to making them produce, then they'll improve. Try not correcting them, but making them reforumlate things and expertiment to get their message across. If you spoonfeed the answers, it may make them dependent on you. If they have to fall back on their own resources, however limited, they will have to start being more creative. Make them 'bring' \something new to class like a word or phrase that they have learned. They have to become active in their learning.

Post Thanks / Like

I experienced that my pupils can make sentences easier if I