Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Ferdie11's Avatar
    Ferdie11 is offline Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Student or Learner
      • Native Language:
      • Tagalog
      • Home Country:
      • Philippines
      • Current Location:
      • Philippines
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    330
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default We tried to access the wifi connection, but was not able to

    Hello,

    Is the sentence below correct?

    We tried to access the wifi connection, but was not able to.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Munch's Avatar
    Munch is offline Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Australia
      • Current Location:
      • Japan
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    480
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: We tried to access the wifi connection, but was not able to

    Quote Originally Posted by Ferdie11 View Post
    Hello,

    Is the sentence below correct?

    We tried to access the wifi connection, but was not able to.

    Thanks.
    No, you used "we" so you must use "were".

    We tried to access the wifi connection, but were not able to.
    I/He/She tried to access the wifi connection, but was not able to.

  3. #3
    Ferdie11's Avatar
    Ferdie11 is offline Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Student or Learner
      • Native Language:
      • Tagalog
      • Home Country:
      • Philippines
      • Current Location:
      • Philippines
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    330
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: We tried to access the wifi connection, but was not able to

    Thank you, Munch. But can we say "We tried to access the wifi connection, but we were not able to"?

  4. #4
    bhaisahab's Avatar
    bhaisahab is offline Moderator
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Retired English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • England
      • Current Location:
      • England
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    22,298
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: We tried to access the wifi connection, but was not able to

    Quote Originally Posted by Ferdie11 View Post
    Thank you, Munch. But can we say "We tried to access the wifi connection, but we were not able to"?
    Yes, you can.

  5. #5
    Ferdie11's Avatar
    Ferdie11 is offline Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Student or Learner
      • Native Language:
      • Tagalog
      • Home Country:
      • Philippines
      • Current Location:
      • Philippines
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    330
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: We tried to access the wifi connection, but was not able to

    Is the paragraph below correct? Actually the sentence above is actually from this paragraph.

    We already tried to connect Mr. Johnís wifi at L12 yesterday, but was not able to. When we brought the laptop to L14 it got connected. Then we tried again to bring it down to L10; it was connecting for a few seconds but got disconnected again. Please help.


  6. #6
    bhaisahab's Avatar
    bhaisahab is offline Moderator
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Retired English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • England
      • Current Location:
      • England
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    22,298
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: We tried to access the wifi connection, but was not able to

    Quote Originally Posted by Ferdie11 View Post
    Is the paragraph below correct? Actually the sentence above is actually from this paragraph.

    We already tried to connect Mr. Johnís wifi at L12 yesterday, but was not able to. When we brought the laptop to L14 it got connected. Then we tried again to bring it down to L10; it was connecting for a few seconds but got disconnected again. Please help.
    We tried to connect Mr. Johnís wifi at L12 yesterday but were not able to. When we brought the laptop to L14 it connected. Then we tried again to bring it down to L10; it was connecting for a few seconds but disconnected again. Please help.

Similar Threads

  1. should always have access to sth
    By yuhan in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29-Dec-2009, 06:38
  2. self-access and computers
    By honey1977 in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13-Oct-2006, 12:15

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •