Authentic material for elementary students.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ulybin

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Russian
Home Country
Ukraine
Current Location
UK
I'm new to English teaching (half-way through the CELTA) and it's difficult for me to predict how much elementary sts can understand. I'm thinking of using "Your name, sir" sketch by Fry and Laurie in my authentic material lesson for elementary sts. Parts of it will certainly go over their heads, but they should be able to get the gist of what's going on (asking for name / adress and the absurd answers).
I also understand that in authentic material lesson sts do not have to understand every single item of vocab/grammar, and that it is the task that should be fitted for their level, not the material. However, I'm worried that they will not enjoy the sketch because of the parts they cannot understand. I find it difficult to put myself in their position and imagine whether it can be funny for them at all.
Another thing is, I would not want to hand out the scripts as most of the text is what they cannot understand (parts spoken very fast, in advanced Engish).
So I guess my questions are:
1) Is there a chance to make a successfull and fun elementary lesson with this material, given the tasks will be on their level?
2) Would it be appropriate to hand out only a partial script (say, as a gap-fill exercise), and omit the difficult parts?

References: video, script
Thank you.

Last edited:

5jj

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
Czech Republic
Current Location
Czech Republic
1) Is there a chance to make a successful[STRIKE]l[/STRIKE] and fun elementary lesson with this material, given the tasks will be on their level? YES, a chance
2) Would it be appropriate to hand out only a partial script (say, as a gap-fill exercise), and omit the difficult parts? POSSIBLY