Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: duck let loose

undertakerTR is offline Newbie
    Post Thanks / Like

Unhappy duck let loose

Hello everyone,

I've came across a mistranslation recently.
    I am studying translation and interpretation in college and couldn't find the correct translation of the sentence below. It's became an obsession for me, please help.

"Roasted duck let loose, beef rashers beaten up in the country people's fashion"
    There is a mistake with the let loose but what should have been used instead of that? And can we take the "beaten up" idiom as a second mistake?

I'd like to thank everyone in advance
    Last edited by undertakerTR; 17-Nov-2010 at 08:06. Reason: Grammar

RonBee is offline Moderator
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Other
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: duck let loose

I don't know what a correct translation would look like, but how would you let a roasted duck loose? (Wouldn't a roasted duck be dead?) And why would beef rashers be beaten up?

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by RonBee View Post
    I don't know what a correct translation would look like, but how would you let a roasted duck loose? (Wouldn't a roasted duck be dead?) And why would beef rashers be beaten up?

well, it is a quotation from a polish restaurant menu. People share it to have a laughter. Probably the translator didn't realize and translated an idiom in polish cuisine without thinking over it. The part that troubles me is what is the right equivalance in English

Barb_D is offline Moderator
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Other
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States
    Post Thanks / Like