Persian
Home Country
Iran
Current Location
Iran
Hi there,
I have a question. what is the difference between the following two sentences:
1) I am living here for 2 years.
2) I have been living here for two days.
By the way, I'm a university lecturer from Iran. I would like to make friends with some English native speakers. I would be glad if you help me.
Thanks.
Mehdi

lauralie2

Member Type
Retired English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
Canada
Current Location
China
Hello Mehdi

Sentence 1) is ungrammatical.

• I am going to live here for 2 years. :tick:

5jj

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
Czech Republic
Current Location
Czech Republic
Hi there,
I have a question. what is the difference between the following two sentences:
2) I have been living here for two days.
#1 is grammatical in the sense: This place is my temporary home for a period of two years. Probably some native speakers would use stay rather than live.
It could also be used with a future sense, though Lauralie's version is more likely to be heard.
#2 means that I began to live here two days ago, and I still live here.

lauralie2

Member Type
Retired English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
Canada
Current Location
China
#1 is grammatical in the sense: This place is my temporary home for a period of two years.
Interesting that it's grammatical in BrE. (In AmE, "I am living here *for 2 years" is ungrammatical.)

5jj

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
Czech Republic
Current Location
Czech Republic
Interesting that it's grammatical in BrE. (In AmE, "I am living here *for 2 years" is ungrammatical.)

Are you sure that it's ungrammatical in a context such the one below?