English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
England
Current Location
England
Hello everyone.

I’m looking for some help and advice about teaching English in Shanghai. Having graduated university (with little chance of a town planning job) I’m currently studying on a 150hour online Tesol course and learning Mandarin in my spare time. My reasons for choosing China is that it seams to pay very well (in terms of the quality of life one would be able to afford) compared to with teaching other countries. I also have a couple friends who had a great year teaching in China.

I’m just wondering if anyone can recommend some schools/universities in Shanghai as from reading various forums there seams to be a number of unscrupulous employers out there. I’ve been searching around on the internet and I’m just a bit overwhelmed by all the schools/agencies. I’m looking for a ‘relaxed’ working environment where I wont be worked into the ground and receive a fair pay. To speed the process up I was hoping to apply for jobs before completing my course having heard it takes around a month to sort out all the details like visas etc.

It would also be nice to hear of peoples experiences of working in China and any advice that they would like to give.

Thanks.

jennycullen

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Chinese
Home Country
China
Current Location
China
I once had a foreign English teacher from US, who was not satisfied with the classes our school board arrenged, after talking to the dean and other principles in vain, he was disappointed and finally went to Hangzhou to teach in a high school.We heard he was doing fine there. The choice of school is definitely crucial.

Not a teacher

5jj

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
Czech Republic
Current Location
Czech Republic
It would also be nice to hear of people's experiences of working in China and any advice that they would like to give.