• Russian
      • Home Country:
      • Russian Federation
      • Current Location:
      • Russian Federation
    Post Thanks / Like

Default defibition of "corporation"

Dear frinds!!!

My question is probably too complicated, but please try to help me because I need to use thje extract given below in my juristic essay (I'm not a lawyer myself)

"Corporation is a collection of many individuals united into one body, under a special denomination, having perpetual succession under an artificial form, and vested, by policy of the law, with the capacity of acting, in several respects, as an individual, particularly of taking andgranting property, of contracting obligations, and of suing and being sued, of enjoying privileges and immunities in common, and of exercising a variety of political rights, more or less extensive, according to the design of its institution, or the powers conferred upon it, either at the time of its creation, or at any subsequent period of its existence"

1) What is "denomination"? Is it the same as "name"?
    2) What does "under an artificial form" mean?
    3) Does "in common" mean "together"?
    4) Does "excercising" mean "carrying out"?
    5) What is "more or less extensive"?

All I've asked you about has been highlighted in bold to make it easier to find these expressions.

Thanks

SoothingDave is offline VIP Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Interested in Language
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: defibition of "corporation"

1. Yes, name. But a unique name, not shared with any other.
    2. It is not a natural person. It is an artificial creation of the state.
    3. Yes. The corporation (meaning its interested parties all together) holds certain privleges.
    4. Yes, more or less. Exercise is the verb usually used with political rights.