Post Thanks / Like

Default Oliver Twist .. please help me...

Hi there,

I am studying English Literature and the professor gave us an essay question about the novel Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens..

please help me to correct my essay...

the question :

choose two scenes in Oliver Twist and relate them to each other according to the devices that Dickens chooses to reveal the situation at his time..

Poverty, poor laws and poor conditions are some of the terrible
    consequences of the flourish in all areas of politic, economic and industry in the Victorian age. Indeed, a new social class appears the "underclass", at the same time the number of the middle class increases. Death becomes as a pleasant event and joy for the poor people since they think it's much better than their grim survival. In fact, all these events affected the literature of the time. Many writers start revealing the injustice system in their works. Take an example, Charles Dickens in his novel Oliver Twist. So, through his mastery of understandment, he is able to comment affectively on the horrible social conditions of the Victorian age. Dickens speaks out against the Poverty Laws of that age and against the general state of the legal system. And through the most important scenes in the novel he demonstrates the age generally and the poor conditions particularly.