Student or Learner
Native Language
Italian
Home Country
Italy
Current Location
Italy
Hi everyone,

I am a new member of UsingEnglish.com. This forum is amazing and solves lots of problem!!! So I am writing because I need a revision of part of my cover letter for a Phd position in a scientific field... For me it's really really important and writing in English is not as easy as it was when I finished high school (I achieved the CAE 5 years ago...)!
So could you please help me with my cover letter??? Is the content ok??? Do you think there's something missing?

Here it is:

I am writing to express my great interest in applying for the PhD training program on [bla bla].

I studied biological sciences, from 2005-2008, at the University of [bla bla], where I obtained a bachelor's degree. Even if I was also interested in molecular biology and genetics, I have always been fascinated by the natural world. Therefore I decided to continue my studies and in two years I achieved a master’s degree in marine biology. I was really passionate about most of the subjects I have studied and I finished both my degrees with flying colors. Now I am really motivated in continuing my interest in scientific field and for this reason I expect that the PhD position will contribute enormously to my future research-career plans.
During my five years studies at the University, I was able to combine studies with work. I started being more independent at 14, when I decided to go to a boarding school. That was certainly the first experience that taught me how to cope with life and to be responsible of my actions. The five years I spent in the boarding school have made me more mature and taught me how to get along with people.