Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
Persian
Home Country
Iran
Current Location
Iran
I am looking for adjective which describe different kinds of music. I am not looking much for the names of the genres but I need some adjective or phrases.

1- Happy music. (right? what other adjectives are applicable here?)
2- Sad music. (Any other adjectives?)
3- Some music without any song. (Is instrumental good enough?)
4- Mild music. (How can I describe it with one adjective?)
5- How can I describe the kind of music I hear in a party? What adjectives?
6- How can I describe the kind of music I listen to when I am studying? The kind of music which is not annoying when one studies and even helps.
7- How can I describe the rhythme of a piece of music?

Thank you very much in advance.

JMurray

Key Member
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
English
Home Country
New Zealand
Current Location
Australia
Khosro.
Adjectives used to describe all sorts of things are also used to describe music, but I'll give you a few that are often associated with music.

1- Happy music. (right? what other adjectives are applicable here?) – upbeat, cheerful.
2- Sad music. (Any other adjectives?) – minor key, bluesy, melancholy.
3- Some music without any song. (Is instrumental good enough?) – In most cases, yes.
4- Mild music. (How can I describe it with one adjective?). – If you mean to be derogatory: bland, muzak. If neutral: light. Perhaps MOR (middle of the road).
5- How can I describe the kind of music I hear in a party? What adjectives? – Depends on the type of party, maybe: wild, rockin', danceable, lively.
6- How can I describe the kind of music I listen to when I am studying? The kind of music which is not annoying when one studies and even helps. – ambient, low-key, background.
7- How can I describe the rhythme of a piece of music? – Depends on the type of music, maybe: jazzy, steady, syncopated, leaden, jaunty, hot etc.

Coolfootluke

Member Type
Other
Native Language