Native Language
Portuguese
Home Country
Portugal
Current Location
UK
Hello,

I am a newbie here...

Here's a bit about myself, I am 23rd year old female, living in London for the past 10 years. I am a med student and I really hate my accent.

Although I have lived in the UK for so many years, for some reason I still have a foreign accent (or at least I think so)... Some people think i'm Australian, whilst others say I have a british accent etc etc...

I would like to hear your thoughts and help me to improve my accent or even tell me what am I doing (saying) wrong.

It would be very much appreciated if you could give some feedback.

Here's a youtube video where you can listen to my accent :

http://www.youtube.com/my_videos?feature=mhum

Many thanks :)

birdeen's call

VIP Member
Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Polish
Home Country
Poland
Current Location
Poland
There's no video there... You linked to your videos, but every user will see the videos uploaded by them on that page. Could you fix the link?

armani9

Member Type
Other
Native Language
Portuguese
Home Country
Portugal
Current Location
UK

birdeen's call

VIP Member
Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Polish
Home Country
Poland
Current Location
Poland
If I had listened to this video without any a priori knowledge, I would be sure you're a native Australian. Australian members may disagree. :)

I don't find you accent annoying at all. It's very nice in my opinion.

5jj

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
Czech Republic
Current Location
Czech Republic
Although I have lived in the UK for so many years, for some reason I still have a foreign accent (or at least I think so)... Some people think i'm Australian, whilst others say I have a british accent etc etc...

I would like to hear your thoughts and help me to improve my accent or even tell me what am I doing (saying) wrong.
I am not an expert in this field, but here goes.