Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ostap77 is offline Key Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Student or Learner
      • Native Language:
      • Ukrainian
      • Home Country:
      • Ukraine
      • Current Location:
      • Ukraine
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3,425
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default conduct photosynthesis

    Can I say that a plant conducts photosynthesis?

  2. #2
    freezeframe is offline Key Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Academic
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Canada
      • Current Location:
      • Canada
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2,113
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: conduct photosynthesis

    No.

    You can say, for example, "plants use (the process) of photosynthesis to produce..."

  3. #3
    ostap77 is offline Key Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Student or Learner
      • Native Language:
      • Ukrainian
      • Home Country:
      • Ukraine
      • Current Location:
      • Ukraine
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3,425
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: conduct photosynthesis

    Quote Originally Posted by freezeframe View Post
    No.

    You can say, for example, "plants use (the process) of photosynthesis to produce..."
    Would I sound as if I'm showing smarts if I used photosynthesize?
    Last edited by ostap77; 31-Mar-2011 at 12:52.

  4. #4
    birdeen's call is offline VIP Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Student or Learner
      • Native Language:
      • Polish
      • Home Country:
      • Poland
      • Current Location:
      • Poland
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    5,099
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: conduct photosynthesis

    Quote Originally Posted by ostap77 View Post
    Would I sound as if I'm showing smarts, if I used photosynthesize?
    Not to me.

  5. #5
    bhaisahab's Avatar
    bhaisahab is offline Moderator
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Retired English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • England
      • Current Location:
      • England
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    22,318
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: conduct photosynthesis

    Quote Originally Posted by birdeen's call View Post
    Not to me.
    Nor to me. (If "showing smarts" means what I think it means)

  6. #6
    freezeframe is offline Key Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Academic
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Canada
      • Current Location:
      • Canada
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2,113
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: conduct photosynthesis

    Quote Originally Posted by ostap77 View Post
    Would I sound as if I'm showing smarts, if I used photosynthesize?

    Depends on the context.

    If you're talking about botany or gardening or something like that, no. If you're having a beer down at the pub and all of a sudden you say "photosynthesize", it might be slightly odd.


  7. #7
    ostap77 is offline Key Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Student or Learner
      • Native Language:
      • Ukrainian
      • Home Country:
      • Ukraine
      • Current Location:
      • Ukraine
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3,425
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: conduct photosynthesis

    Quote Originally Posted by bhaisahab View Post
    Nor to me. (If "showing smarts" means what I think it means)
    Yup. Intelligence in a way that other people would think that I'm showing off.

  8. #8
    ostap77 is offline Key Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Student or Learner
      • Native Language:
      • Ukrainian
      • Home Country:
      • Ukraine
      • Current Location:
      • Ukraine
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3,425
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: conduct photosynthesis

    Quote Originally Posted by freezeframe View Post
    Depends on the context.

    If you're talking about botany or gardening or something like that, no. If you're having a beer down at the pub and all of a sudden you say "photosynthesize", it might be slightly odd.

    You got ten points for that one

  9. #9
    SirGod's Avatar
    SirGod is offline Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Student or Learner
      • Native Language:
      • Romanian
      • Home Country:
      • Romania
      • Current Location:
      • Romania
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    424
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: conduct photosynthesis

    Quote Originally Posted by ostap77 View Post
    Would I sound as if I'm showing smarts, if I used photosynthesize?
    I don't think that there should be a comma. A comma is used in conditional clauses if the secondary sentence precedes the main sentence.

    I would have killed her if she had said a word.
    If she had said a word, I would have killed her.

Similar Threads

  1. Conduct
    By jamozsheker in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-Jan-2011, 09:13
  2. [Vocabulary] conduct (as a noun)
    By pinkie9 in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 26-Nov-2010, 12:56
  3. Conduct/conducting
    By Allen165 in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-Oct-2010, 10:39
  4. conduct or conducting
    By KLPNO in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29-Jan-2008, 19:39
  5. How to conduct a swearing-in?
    By albertino in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 29-Sep-2007, 09:01

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •