• English
      • Home Country:
      • Hong Kong
      • Current Location:
      • Hong Kong
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Passion for teaching

Hi there,

I am a Hong Kong resident. I had to leave school after finishing grade 10 for personal reasons. I have a passion for teaching English but I don't have the right qualifications for that. I can't study full time for more reasons than I can say but I have done some courses that relate to teaching english. Example Preschool Education and some Phonics courses. And I have done lots of private tutoring and currently teaching in a preschool. Now I have almost seven years of teaching experience but I want to have more qualifications.

Please help me as I really love this field but it seems I don't have enough ingredients for that to show in paper but i must say that I do have a lot of general knowledge of teaching english.

I would appreciate any advice given

Tdol is offline Editor, UsingEnglish.com
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Philippines
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Passion for teaching

I'd get something like a CELTA that is recognised everywhere. -)

MonkmanE is offline Newbie
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Other
      • Native Language:
      • French
      • Home Country:
      • Canada
      • Current Location:
      • China
    Post Thanks / Like

Wink Re: Passion for teaching

Hi. They say that to be a teacher is just more than what a book tells us what and how to do things. With your 'experiences' you have done many things that are not in books. However the authorities want you have a degree so then you can venture into the real world of teaching, that's what they want and need from the standard or quality of teachers.