Post Thanks / Like

Smile please help, I'm in trouble

Hello everyone
    here is my problem, I'm a French student in France, and I am setting up an exhibition in English for English visitors (this is my student project for university), this is about the cathedral of Chartres. Well my "English-checker" dumped at the last minute and I have to find very nice people who could review some bits here and there. This is very important, the exhibition is to start next week
    I paste some, if you could spot the mistakes or things unclear, just underline them, I'll do the rest.
    Many many thanks
    Barbra

The Annunciation of the Birth of the Virgin to his Father Joachim
    Joachim’s offering in the Temple was refused by the high priest because of his sterility. He has withdrawn ashamed and desperate among the shepherds. An angel appears to him and foretells him the birth of a girl. The commission of this group and the three following ones dated back to the 2nd of January 1519 and gave a very precise description of the work to be done. Joachim had to be represented “at the age forty or about”, the artist was given two models and had to reproduce them: the “stories are portrayed and made in black and white on two pieces of cloth”. Joachim listens to the miraculous annunciation, his eyes are raised towards the messenger angel of heaven (today missing, the statue was sealed onto the wall of the niche). A shepherd sitting on the foreground plays the bagpipe. The instrument is broken but the base of the mouthpiece pipe is visible at the top of the bag. At the back of the niche, a second shepherd carries at the belt shearing tools which are accurately represented. Soulas managed to express the opposite feelings of the characters: the sadness of Joachim and the joy of the shepherds trying to entertain him. The sculptor could not make the scene larger because the niche, leaned onto the pillar of the crossing, was too narrow.