Post Thanks / Like

Default new teacher in distress

Hello everyone. My name is Louisa and I'm a 24-year-old English teacher from Greece. I did my first lesson yeasterday, at an Asenior class, and it was a complete disaster which got me thinking maybe I'm not cut out for this. First of all, I look very young and non-threatening so I was unable to impose myself to a very loud class. I mean, I completely lost control.It was terrible. Now I'm in fear of the next lessons. I just can't go through like this all year.

Second,I feel completely useless as my teaching abilities are concerned. I mean, I jumped from here tot here with no clear purpose-tthank God it was only revision but what am I going to do when I'm going to have to teach them stuff???I'm going to be like, "blah".As you understand, I'm in panic as i know there's no way to ever be able to keep my children under control, cause i'm too damn...soft-spoken!And i think there's nothing i can do about
    this.

Please, any kind of help would be oh so welcome!!!Thanx anyway!

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: new teacher in distress

Quote Originally Posted by lzm
    Hello everyone. My name is Louisa and I'm a 24-year-old English teacher from Greece. I did my first lesson yeasterday, at an Asenior class, and it was a complete disaster which got me thinking maybe I'm not cut out for this. First of all, I look very young and non-threatening so I was unable to impose myself to a very loud class. I mean, I completely lost control.It was terrible. Now I'm in fear of the next lessons. I just can't go through like this all year.