Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Italian
Home Country
Italy
Current Location
United States
Good morning and first of all thanks for the support that you will give me in the following weeks, as I'm planning to make the TOEFL examination in a month.

Here there is the question and the answer of a written practice that I did.

I'd like to know your opinion and were you'd correct it in order to increase the scoring. Thanks a lot:-D

QUESTION
What are the advantages and disadvantages of owning a car? State your opinion using illustrations and reasons.

ANSWER

Owning a car has several advantages and disadvantages. To be owner of a method of transportation gives you freedom but sometimes it cost too much.

On one hand owning a car, there is the opportunity to be totally free, to have a high degree of flexibility. When I was a freshman I used to go to the College by tube. More than often classes were postponed late in the evening, when subway was closed. In these cases I had to sleep to some friends of mine because I have no way to come back home. During the summer of the first year I saved money to buy a used car. So the next year I was even more proficient in my study thanks to the fact that I could come back home when classes were in delay or if I wanted to study longer in the university library.
On another hand It allow to the owner to make great road trips. During the College me and my friends made a great road trip across Europe, having the opportunity to visit a lot of countries for a very low price, because we shared all the expenses and sometimes we slept in the car.