Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
Italian
Home Country
Italy
Current Location
Italy
Does this cover letter sound good to a native English ear?

Dear Sirs,
I have seen your advertisement in Today's Sunday Times for the post of an expert in Import and Export field and I would like to apply for it.
I am a 27 year old boy. I have just graduated from Messina University in Foreign Languages. I can speak English and German fluently. I do not have any experience in import and export but I have had some teaching experiences, which have given me the opportunity to enhance my personal skills as a communicator and to run classes of 15-20 people. I am applying for this job because I think to be quite good at communicating with people and interacting with them.
I am attaching my CV and a picture. I hope you will take my application into account and to have the opportunity of an interview. I look forward to hearing from you and thank you in advance.

Yours Faithfully

SoothingDave

VIP Member
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
I am applying for this job because I think to be quite good at communicating with people and interacting with them.

"I think to be" is not correct. Say"...because I am quite good..."

I hope you will take my application into account and to have the opportunity of an interview.

This sentence is not good. You attempt to join with the "and" two things you are hoping for. But when you do that, you must join like things. This would be better to say that you hope they will take your application under consideration. Then include the offer to be available for an interview in your next sentence.

I would not thank people in advance in this type of situation. It can seem presumptuous.

Finally, if you are 27 years old, you are not a "boy."

TomUK

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
German
Home Country
Germany
Current Location
UK