• German
      • Home Country:
      • Germany
      • Current Location:
      • Germany
    Post Thanks / Like

Smile would you please check this long email

Dear Mr. May,

I am applying for a J-1 Visa. Would you please aid me in my efforts to visit the Berkely University. I am planning to do my MS Thesis as a scholar there, so I will not be an enrolled student. According to those information provided in the form 2023PS which you can find in the attachment I have the following questions:

• What should I exactly write in front of the field “Berkely University Title:” on page 1.I’m coming from the Technical University of Stuttgart in Germany. I’m studying Mechanical Engineering.

• If I tick the box Short Term Scholar on page 2 and I would want to do my Ph.D. subsequent to my MS Thesis there would it be possible to extend my visa from Short Term Scholar to Research Scholar ? This is because if I would leave US after my Thesis upon my departure from the United States, I would be required to complete a mandatory two-year home-country physical presence prior to re-entry into the United States which I don’t want.

• Regarding FINANCIAL SUPPORT INFORMATION: I asked my banker to give me my recent personal statement on a bank letterhead which is required in the above mentioned form. They do not. The only possibilities that I have at the moment is that to send you my statement of account which I can extract as a PDF-file via Online Banking. Is it enough? Should I have the whole $15600 which is with respect to one year completely now in my account? Right now I have about $11000 which I think is enough for six months.

• How should I proceed with the insurance part. Should I have a contract and send you the documentations. Do you have any idea which of the insurance institutes is the most usual one with which most of the students have a contract?