Academic
Native Language
Indonesian
Home Country
Indonesia
Current Location
United States
Hi All,

I'm Ita. I'm new in the group. :) I'm from Indonesia and I'm studying TESOL now at University of Northern Iowa.
I wonder if anyone have had experiences teaching in foreign countries or info about teaching opportunities in any Asian countries, such as China, Japan, Korea etc.

I'd love to learn from your experiences. :)

Ita.

ita13

Member Type
Academic
Native Language
Indonesian
Home Country
Indonesia
Current Location
United States
Thank you very much! I really appreciate it. :D

May I know where you are teaching now?

I'm With Stupid

Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
England
Current Location
Vietnam
I think it's important to warn you about some of the difficulties you might face in these areas of the world. These countries aren't like America or Western Europe, and there is absolutely nothing to stop blatant discrimination based on things that you cannot change. The first obstacle you're going to face in any Asian country is the native speaker obstacle. Many schools simply won't even give you an interview if they find out you're not a native speaker, so even if you're completely fluent, with no "foreign" accent, you'll never get a chance to show it. Being taught by a native speaker is a big selling point for a lot of these for-profit schools, so they can't then hire non-native speakers.