Anon Guest

Question Biographical narrative

I want to know if this essay sounds like a biographical narrative or a summary of Charles Cornwallis's life. Please take to note that I'm a middle school student and this is going into a newspaper for a project.

-------------

After being pursued by the combined forces of LaFayette, Baron Friedrich von Steuben, and General ‘Mad’ Anthony Wayne, General Charles Cornwallis chose a small town located on the York River, Yorktown. While closed off on land by a greater force, Cornwallis hoped to obtain reinforcements by sea. However, the French, lead by Count de Grasse impeded and the British had no control over the sea anymore. With Washington’s army on land and a French fleet off the coast, Cornwallis was surrounded. On October ninth, Cornwallis had unsuccessfully tried to cross the York River. Eight days later, he sent General Charles O’Hara to surrender the British Army. Charles Cornwallis is still in the colonies as of now, and what will happen to him after he returns to England is not known. However, it is doubted that he will get punished, because of his many contributions to the Revolutionary War.

Before the war, Cornwallis was in Parliament. He had sided with the colonists about the unfair taxing. In 1765, Charles had argued for the repeal of the Stamp Act, and was one of the five people who voted for the repeal of the Act, and with the right to not tax America anymore. A year later, he also voted against the Stamp Act. However, when news about Lexington came to England, there was so issue about which side he was on. In December of 1775, after being promoted to the rank of lieutenant-general, he headed off to the colonies to help support the war.