• English
      • Home Country:
      • England
      • Current Location:
      • South Korea
    Post Thanks / Like

Default ty endings.

Hi.

I'm a new teacher who recently did a Cambridge CELTA.

As part of the course it was mandatory to learn (and teach) the phonetic script (British English). I've kind of got to grips with it (as when I started my course I was an almost complete beginner).

Anyway, soon I have to teach students the difference between the endings of some of the numbers (which they regularly mispronounce) - for example; thirteen and thirty.

Upon putting 'thirty' into the Cambridge dictionary and looking at the phonetic transcription I notice that the ending is coming up as /i/ - this isn't a sound that was covered on the CELTA course (although I was told that there were 44 sounds in total and we 'learnt all 44'). So for the past 2 months I've been teaching my students the same. Now I'm faced with an 'extra' sound.

I guess the sound in question is somewhere between the long /i:/ sound in 'eat' and the short /ɪ/ sound in 'it'. So i'm initially wondering why this sound isn't shown on the Cambridge English official phonetic chart (and various others). As I guess having stated that there are 'only 44 sounds' I've now got to kind of say.........oh by the way, there's another.

Thanks for any insight.

* Yes, I also know this sound is on the end of lots of adjectives too (naughty etc.) Which makes it's 'omission' even more baffling.

Raymott is offline VIP Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Academic
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Australia
      • Current Location:
      • Australia
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: ty endings.

Quote Originally Posted by EuroTeacher View Post
    Hi.

I'm a new teacher who recently did a Cambridge CELTA.