British English or American accent?

• Thread starter Anonymous
  • Start date
  • Views : 425,781
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Anonymous

I am a student in China. Because of the Hollywood movies, American songs and much more frequent contact with US than that of UK, American accent seems more popular.

However, the college teachers suggest that British accent is more acceptable in the world, especially in the world outside US. Is it true?

I want to know how would UKers react to American accent speaking callers and vice versa.

Do Americans like British accent on the phone when it is a sales call, for example?

I want opinions from only native English speakers, mainly UK and US citizens. Please state your nationality and your feelings about the accents.

Thanks.

A

Anonymous

One accent should not be regarded as being better than another.

One accent is not more acceptable than the other.

Generally speaking, people whose first language is English appreciate the different speaking styles that English speakers from different English speaking countries have. I don't think anyone can say that he or she doesn't like the way an American sounds or a British accent sounds.

Keep in mind also that there are Australian accents, Scottish accents, Irish accents, South African accents, New Zealand accents etc. There are many types of "accents" in the English language. One is not better than the other. The main focus is usually on American and British Accents.

Most people whose second language is English have an accent, but it is usually their own accent.

Unless someone is living in an English speaking country, it would be very difficult to not speak with an accent.

Speak in the way that you feel the most comfortable with. The most important thing is correct pronunciation and that people understand you when you speak.

I'm from the U.S.

Red5

Webmaster, UsingEnglish.com
Staff member
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
British English
Home Country