• Post Thanks / Like

Exclamation Advice and Critique Please...need by 11/27

Hello,
    I am a student from West Chester University and I have been given an assignment in my Inclusive Classroom class. The assignment is to find a lesson plan online (shown below) and modify it according to the needs of a learning disabled child. Our particular case study involved an ELL student in kindergarten (Spanish speaking). Part of the requirements of the assignment is to have a professional educator review and make comments on the modifications I chose to make to the lesson plan. Please e-mail me back soon; this is due on Nov. 29th. I hope you will also include any other suggestions you may have about accommodating the needs of ELL students learning how to read and write. Thank you for your time.

-Jessica Fedena
    Student

I chose to make the following modifications:

In step one of the procedure, as I recite words that start with the letter G and emphasize the G sound, I would have the students repeat the words back to me out loud. This way, the ELL student would be able to hear and also verbally speak English words with the rest of the class, therefore, making him/her feel included and also teaching him/her how to articulate and pronunciate English words.

In step number two of the procedure, As I explain how to make the paper G, I would hold up the materials that begin with the letter G, say the words, emphasizing the G sound, and then have the class repeat the word back to me, also emphasizing the G sounds (glue, glitter, glue). This would allow the ELL student to not only hear and say the English words, but also have a visual example of the words.