Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Chinese
Home Country
Hong Kong
Current Location
UK
I am studying a grammar book listing all the common mistakes made by learners of English and I am not so sure if the following is really what one calls "errors / mistakes" in English.

1) Hospital is a place where sick people are cared for --> (hospital --> a hospital)

I know hospital is countable but it has a generic reference here, so I thought the original sentence is alright?

2) Isabel went to hospital for a pap smear --> a / the hospital

I often hear people say go to hospital, so why is an article needed?

3) I will be back after two weeks --> in two weeks

4) Alright, I'll go with you to Betty's party. --> All right...

I thought alright = all right [e.g. alright adjective/adverb/exclamation - definition in British English Dictionary & Thesaurus - Cambridge Dictionary Online]

Thank you all so much!
Shouldn't ask too many questions in one post, I realize =)

abaka

Member Type
Other
Native Language
English
Home Country
Canada
Current Location
Canada
1) A hospital is a place. You could perhaps say Hospital is the place where people get treated... or even better Hospital is the place for treatment... or the place to get treated, but in all these cases "The hospital is the place" is still better.

2) Idiom.

3) Idiom. Or you may say I will be back two weeks after my marriage, after I finish my diet, and so on, but you really need to specify after what. You may also say I will marry in July, and will be back two weeks thereafter, where thereafter = after that.

4) From dictionary.reference.com:

The form alright as a one-word spelling of the phrase all right in all of its senses probably arose by analogy with such words as already and altogether. Although alright is a common spelling in written dialogue and in other types of informal writing, all right is used in more formal, edited writing.

Last edited:

Barb_D

Staff member
Member Type
Other
Native Language