Post Thanks / Like

Default Phonetic transcriptions?

Hello
    I am a teacher of English for intermediate students. I want to teach them how to use the phonetic alphabet as applied to English. A few years ago, when I was a student myself, my teacher had taught us the phonetic alphabet using transcripts: on the left page, a text in plain English, on the right page, the transcript in phonetic alphabet. I found that rather efficient. I'd like to do exactly the same with my students.
    The problem is that I've been unable to trace the source of these texts. I've browsed through several phonetics handbooks at a rather large bookshop in Paris but haven't found the equivalent. I'm no longer in contact with that teacher of mine.
    Could anyone recommend a book? And/or tell me where I could find something like this on the web? I need something very basic: just the texts in plain English and the corresponding transcripts in the phonetic alphabet.
    Many Thanks
    D

Tdol is offline Editor, UsingEnglish.com
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Philippines
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Phonetic transcriptions?

Post Thanks / Like

Exclamation Re: Phonetic transcriptions?

Quote Originally Posted by dacaumodo
    Hello
    I am a teacher of English for intermediate students. I want to teach them how to use the phonetic alphabet as applied to English. A few years ago, when I was a student myself, my teacher had taught us the phonetic alphabet using transcripts: on the left page, a text in plain English, on the right page, the transcript in phonetic alphabet. I found that rather efficient. I'd like to do exactly the same with my students.