The business side: traditional language school model; and going forward.

Status
Not open for further replies.

DaveArms

Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
Ireland
Current Location
Ireland
Good evening all. I am a long time forum reader, and have found the tips and general discussion very helpful in terms of bringing new ideas and methodologies into my classroom(s).

My apologies is this is not the correct forum for my thread.

A brief background; I have recently arrived home from Madrid, where I had been teaching English for a little over two years. I originally went for a 2 month contract, covering for a friend (ESL teacher) who was on sick leave, but the city had me hooked and I kept finding reasons to stick around. :)

As I moved around from contract to contract; teaching differing age groups, levels and career-types (civil servants and army types at their locations, but also classes in the language schools) I was given a taste of the business side of this ESL industry.

The contracts were all for private language schools, all highly accredited and focused on the B2B (business to business) market - where we were introduced as 'communication consultants', 'executive trainers' and 'business coaches', instead of 'teachers' - but no different in practice to any ESL teacher delivering business English.

Now; onto my question.

Is there any scope for a new look at the traditional language school model, one that might attract and retain more students?
I ask, as the majority of schools that I have seen have worked as a conveyor-belt system.

• Student(s) enter; either through their company or off the street.
  • They are handed a level test; 15 mins (written) and sent away to complete it.
  • A teacher enters to assess their level based on grammar and a short conversation.
  • The initial level is usually badly assessed; leaving the student to be moved around 2-3 classes in.