• Native Language:
      • Tamil
      • Home Country:
      • India
      • Current Location:
      • India
    Post Thanks / Like

Default only-necessary?

The success rate of English medium students are higher than the vernacular medium If you can write in English, it is always better to go with English mediumonly.

Is the "only" necessary here?(This statement is given as an answer to the question asking whether English medium is better or not.)

Barb_D is offline Moderator
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Other
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: only-necessary?

I don't understand the sentence. Are you using the word "medium" to mean "language"?
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

david11 is offline Senior Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Student or Learner
      • Native Language:
      • Tamil
      • Home Country:
      • India
      • Current Location:
      • India
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Barb_D View Post
    I don't understand the sentence. Are you using the word "medium" to mean "language"?
    Yes, that's what normal people mean here. Medium here refers to the language through which subjects are learned. For instance, I learn geography through french then the french is "referred" as medium.

When I got into college, people ask "In what medium did you study at school?" and I would reply I studied in English medium and some would say, I studied in Tamil medium to mean that all the subjects were in Tamil(except the language, of course!).

What do you say in America to refer to the language through which they study the other subjects?

Barb_D is offline Moderator
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Other
      • Native Language: