[Vocabulary] Which word is used in a strange way in these 6 sentences, and why?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kasakuri

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
Vietnam
Hello and thank you sincerely in advance for your help. I'm an aspiring English teacher trying to familiarize myself with all the nuances of the language :)

I am trying to identify which word in the following 6 questions are used incorrectly, explain why they are used incorrectly as well as replace the incorrect word with a better alternative. So far, I have identified (what I think) are the incorrect words and replaced them with (what I think) are the better alternatives. However, I'm really not sure how to explain the decisions that I've made.

If you would be so kind, please look at the following 6 questions and help me Identify and explain the correct choices.

A. In the sentences below, one of the words is used in a way that sounds strange or inappropriate.

Identify the wrong word then supply a more appropriate word and say why this is better.

Example:
A healthy diet makes people skinnier and better looking.

ANSWER: ‘Skinnier’ is wrong here. ‘Slimmer’ is better because it has a positive tone. ‘Skinnier’ sounds too negative in this context.

1. The students have done a lot of progress so far.
Answer: ‘done’ is wrong here. ‘Made’ is better.

2. He doesn’t concentrate in class, he spends most of his time saying jokes to his friends.
Answer: ‘Saying’ is wrong here. ‘Cracking’ is better

3. The assistant manager left last week so now we’re trying to find out a replacement.
Answer: ‘Out’ is wrong here. It should be deleted because it is extraneous.

4. The work I’m doing at the moment is absolutely difficult for most people.
Answer: ‘Absolutely’ is wrong here. ‘Very’ is better.

5. Please could you cough up this money within the next seven days?
Answer: ‘Cough up’ is wrong here. ‘Come up with’ is better.