Hello everyone !

It's the 1st time I use usingenglish.com. My English teachers are on holidays and do not really fancy correcting papers between Christmas and New Year... I understand them !

I want to apply for a summer training in an American Research Laboratory. I have to send my cover letter and a CV. I have already written them and I really would like to have someone to check it and help me if there are mistakes or strange phrases.

Thank you a lot.
Here's my cover letter (don't worry about the page layout, I've copied from Word):
I'm trying to write rather with American English.

"Dear Ms. XXX,

I am an Engineering student at the Arts et Métiers ParisTech in first year. I am interested in an internship with research laboratories of American universities.

Thanks to this opportunity, I could discover the work in a research laboratory. That would be very interesting since I may want to work in research later. Moreover, I want to complete my theoretical knowledge with practice and enhance my training. Going on a training course is quite adapted to do so.
I already travelled a lot all around Europe. I am very interested in discovering new cultures, new landscapes and meeting new people. Now, I want to grab this opportunity to go to America and discover this huge country and its culture.
Finally, I am planning to spend my third year of studies in an English-speaking country. Going to the United States this summer is a great way to make my English perfect and to increase my chances of getting such a double-diploma later.

Working in a university will be a perfect way to complete these objectives, which mean a lot.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,"

And my CV :

"
I can fix ambitious objectives and reach them
in autonomy or with a team.
Initiated to project management,
- I take decisions when circumstances need it.
- I have very good relations with clients and
keep a professional behavior at any time.