[General] Non-academic essay - Comments highly appreciated ! ! !

Status
Not open for further replies.

thielean

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
German
Home Country
Germany
Current Location
Germany
Hi guys, I'm an economics student at the University of Cologne and I would like to improve my english. I believe that reading quality papers and writing résumés thereof can be very productive and as I don't have many English native friends, I would highly appreciate if someone of you would read through my essay and communicate your thoughts on it. THANKING YOU IN ADVANCE!!!:up::)

The article ‘View from the bridge‘, written by an undisclosed author and published by The Economist on January 19th, is an informative English-written article, which deals with one of the most important ports in the United States, namely the one in Long Beach, its implication on global seaborne trade, its delivery of crucial insight information on the economy and its potential future outlook.

The port in Long Beach accomodates after neighbouring Los Angeles the second most important port in America, with nearly 5,000 vessels arriving in 2012. Recent environmental regulations have impeded older vessels to approach Long Beach, thus paving the way for bigger vessels to pull in in their stead.

Increasing spending over $5 billion between Long Beach and Los Angeles in the infrastructure of their respective ports is reflecting 1) the dwindling airborne share on trade as seaborne trade systems’ efficiency increases, and 2) the effort to provide state-of-the-art and top-notch technical facilities that are able to receive ever bigger and more technologically advanced vessels.